Jung at heart (I’m sorry, I’ll get my coat)

Hopi Sen draws our attention to the typealyzer, which purports to conduct a Myers-Briggs analysis based on blog postings. I have to say, I don’t know how it works, but it has me down as an INTP (“The Thinker”) which is pretty good since my result on the real test comes out as an INTJ (“The Scientist”), and the J/P score is very much on the borderline.

Not that I set much store by these sort of things – they’re very good in my experience at telling us what, if we were honest with ourselves and thought about it, we would discover that we already knew.

http://www.personalitypage.com/portraits.html

INTP: The logical and analytical type. They are especially attuned to difficult creative and intellectual challenges and always look for something more complex to dig into. They are great at finding subtle connections between things and imagine far-reaching implications.

INTJs live in the world of ideas and strategic planning. They value intelligence, knowledge, and competence, and typically have high standards in these regards, which they continuously strive to fulfill. To a somewhat lesser extent, they have similar expectations of others.

I can go with that, though I’m certainly no scientist – I think these pithy descriptions are ex post facto anyway, rather than part of the official Myers-Briggs lexicon.

Anything’s an improvement on the team-building exercise I was once talked into which involved Belbin team roles and the discovery that I am “A Plant”. I initially assumed this meant I spend my time doing very little of obvious use in the corner of the room, and consume a lot of liquids. Apparently it is slightly more complimentary than that.

Plants are creative, unorthodox and a generator of ideas. If an innovative solution to a problem is needed, a Plant is a good person to ask. A good plant will be bright and free-thinking. Plants can tend to ignore incidentals and refrain from getting bogged down in detail. The Plant bears a strong resemblance to the popular caricature of the absentminded professor-inventor, and often has a hard time communicating ideas to others.

Probably shouldn’t be blogging, then…

Elsewhere in local government there seem to be lots of other INTPs. Henry Tam of CLG and the hivemind of the LGIU, for starters. LGO Blog fan Councillor Lynes, about whom I will shut up very soon lest he fears I have become a stalker, is ESTP – The Do-ers.

ESTPs are outgoing, straight-shooting types. Enthusiastic and excitable, ESTPs are “doers” who live in the world of action. Blunt, straight-forward risk-takers, they are willing to plunge right into things and get their hands dirty. They live in the here-and-now, and place little importance on introspection or theory. The look at the facts of a situation, quickly decide what should be done, execute the action, and move on to the next thing.

Leave a Reply

